Beaches and Becoming a PCV

Part One – Beach Week! 

12360337_10153746943443745_8720958120311519577_n(1)

What better way to celebrate 10 weeks of intense training than to spend 3 days on a beautiful beach in West Africa? There is no better way. As you can see from the photo above, this beach was absolutely beautiful and it was a great place to recharge and get ready for my two years of service ahead. I don’t have a lot to say about beach week, but I would like to share a little bit about a moment I had on the beach on our last morning. After a couple days of fun, dancing, swimming, building sand castles, and watching the waves, I was in a perfect place to reflect on my life thus far, and think about the future. My life has already changed so much since I have been in Africa. There are days when all I want to do is go home, or at the very least talk to a friend from home. I’m not going to lie, this is very difficult for me. But as I stood on the far side of the beach watching the waves, I was reminded once more that I am here for a reason. I was called here, and not following through would be blatantly denying the calling that I have received.  So as I stood on the beach watching the water roll over my feat, I pulled out my phone and in one ear listened to the waves, and in the other ‘Oceans’ by Hillsong United. I know I looked ridiculous, and I’m sure the people in the beach house just 50 yards away could probably hear me singing, but I didn’t care. It didn’t matter because that moment was just me and God standing together in awe of his creation. Where will I be in 2 years? How about 3? 5? I don’t know. But I do know that I can trust in the Lord to give me the strength and the courage I need to keep going.

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders. Let me walk upon the waters wherever you would call me. Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander, and my faith will be made stronger, in the presence of my savior. – Oceans, Hillsong United

 

IMG_8405

Proof that we were here.

IMG_8423

Proof that Emily truly is fierce.

Part Two – Swear In

The first thing we did when we got back to the beach on Thursday night was find our Language teachers. We had not yet found out if we passed our final language tests, so we were all anxious to see how we did. I was pretty sure I had passed, but there is always that little bit of doubt when in situations like this. But, I Passed! I am officially at the Intermediate Mid level for Wolof. The rest of the night was spent packing, getting dinner, and celebrating our accomplishments.

The next morning we all got up very early to prepare for Swear In. We had to be dressed in Senegalese clothes ready to leave for Dakar by 7am. The bus ride was fun sitting with my friends that I would not see for a while after this. When we arrived in Dakar, we were arranged by sector and last name. The ceremony was interesting! Most of it was in french, but each speaker did any overview of their speech in English for those of us that don’t speak french. Four volunteers from our stage gave speeches in local language which was so cool to see. We gave our oath and officially became Peace Corps Volunteers! It was so exciting and went very quickly but we did it! The ceremony was followed by drinks and treats overlooking the ocean. It was truly lovely.

The next few hours were spent freaking out a little and saying goodbye to friends. I am now writing from my regional house in Kaolack where I will be spending a lot of my time when I am not at site. I am heading out tomorrow morning to start my two years of service in my village. I am excited to see what is next, and willing to take whatever is thrown at me.

IMG_8234

These are just some of the friends I have made in this country. These people have gotten me through the last 70 days and I expect them to help me through the next 700! As always, Love from Senegal ❤

 

 

Leave a comment